Attitudes of Wealth

Lasik at Optimax TTDI by Dr. Chuah Kay Leong

Posted on: September 19, 2010

After years of hesitation, I finally found the guts to go for Lasik Treatment. I have had many friends who have undergone Lasik eye surgery and many of them highly recommends Optimax. I googled for Optimax’s website and I dialed the toll free number to fix an appointment for check-up. I was very impressed by the receptionist’s manner of handling my call. She was very¬†knowledgeable in answering my questions. I wanted to go for the full 2 hour eye-check up. The lady told me that I should bring a long my sun glasses and someone should drive me home after the check up.

When I went to Optimax TTDI on the scheduled date, I didn’t have to wait long. I notice because they had a number of optometrists to perform the check-ups. Mine was done by a sweet young chinese lady. She’s very professional and she explained to me the function of each eye machine through out the procedure. Briefly, my eye’s power, corneal thickness, corneal pressure, corneal flatness etc. were recorded. After my everything was completed, the optician brought me to the consultation room where she explained to me the types of Lasik available.

Optimax offers a wide range of laser eye refractive surgery; namely Lasik, All-Laser-Lasik, Epi-Lasik/Lasek and Lasik XP. Then you also have Conventional, Custom and Multifocal categories. Well I can’t really recall the details of each types now, but she did mentioned that because I have very flat corneas, the most suitable procedure for me would be the Custom All-Laser-Lasik. ¬†She showed me the price and I almost fainted. It would cost RM3,588 per eye for this procedure!! You can refer to the pricelist below. I did not manage to find any pricelist online before I did my Lasik, so I thought this price list may help you budget your finances before committing to such a big investment!

Optimax pricelist

As I made payment for the eye-check up, the cashier told me that I could get a cheaper rate for the Lasik if I sign up at their road show @ Tropicana Mall the following weekend. Wow! I thought I must be in luck…

I did went to the roadshow to place a deposit, and I secured RM3,388 per eye for the Custom All-Laser-Lasik. Good thing is that Optimax will rebate me RM120 for the eye check-up that I paid earlier. It’s a hefty sum, really, and good thing my friend who referred me promised to share the referral commission! At least, it helps to offset the cost a little, right?

I have no regrets with my Lasik procedure at Optimax. My doctor Dr. Chuah Kay Leong is a really nice man, he’s attentive and he’s got great feedbacks from his previous patients. You can read the testimonials at his office. His surgery days are Tuesdays and Thursdays if you would like him to perform Lasik for you.

It’s been 3 months after my Lasik and I’m loving everyday of it! It’s so convenient and naturally confidence builds up because you feel better about yourself. If you’re considering Lasik, my advice is wait no more, just go for it!

12 Responses to "Lasik at Optimax TTDI by Dr. Chuah Kay Leong"

Nice sharing Sher Li!! I did my Custom All-Laser-Lasik too at TTDI abt this year by Dr Chuah. Still great vision, very satisfied – NO REGRET!! Hurray!!

Luckily didn’t go to V****, they kept pushing me to do their so-called ‘NASA’ treatment which cost me abt RM10K!!! OMG! After that I tried to google around & found the same treatment at another lasik centre at very very much low price(abt RM3k-4K cheaper, felt like being conned…

Finally I decided to go to Optimax as found their ppl very professional & honest…They told me that I was suitable for several type of treatments including cheaper price, but I still opt for high-end type, Custom All-Laser-Lasik since i am type of kia-si ppl…heehee! Although i didn’t get any discount out of my treatment (mine is RM3,588 per eye) but i still think is worth of $$.

p/s: in fact the staff who checking the eyes at TTDI are not ‘optician’, they are Optometriest. Haha!

Hi YY,
Thanks for your sharing! I’m so so glad that you’re another lucky person who made the right choice to undergo your lasik treatment at Optimax TTDI! You are right, the staff at Optimax are really professional, they know what they are talking about.

Hi sherli, I’m getting my all laser lasik custom. Can I still get u to be my referer? Price now they quoted 3688 per eye.
Hows ur experience during the procedure… is it painful? Scared… Tq..

Hi Azleen,
Thanks for visiting this site. Yes, I can be your referrer. Give you more details via email yeah. ;)

Hi SherLi,

Thanks for the sharing and also to share out referral fee. Felt abit sad why the price is higher now. In fact it is higher by RM300 per eye compare to last year promotional price…sigh..anyway, i have sent you email..hope to get ur reply…thanks :)

Hi Stanley,
I didn’t know the price has increased so much in just one year’s time. Happy to know that you are going for the lasik.
Will communicate with you further via email. ;)

Hi,
I am planning on doing laser in Opticmax and I’m planning to do the check up on my eye this week.

Do i need to make any appointment for the checking?

Hi Sam,
Yes, you need to make an appointment for the check up. Call up Optimax and they will advise you what to prepare. All the best!

Hi! Sher Li, Great to heard to that your surgery is successful. I am think of doing conventional custom lasik in Optimax TTDI but the price already increased to RM3000 per eye. Fainted!!! For All laser custom lasik increased to RM4000++ per eye. Terrible. Heard the customer service said the price will increase on Jan 2012.

By the way, can u be my referral since I have no friend been done the surgery at Optimax? We can share 50/50 indeed.

Hi Catherine,

Yes sure you can put me as your referrer. I’ve emailed you on the details. Good luck!!

Woah Sher Li, how are you doing? thanks for sharing your experience! After reading urs I plan to make an appointment to free from spec! Hmm can I have you to be my referral before I head to ttdi Optimax? It is a real costly operation but I must give it a shot!! *exciting* look forward to your reply! Thanks thanks!!

Oh,, forgotten to leave my email address. Here’s imtotallys@hotmail.com ,, thank you!! =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

